Observations on MCS

Standard

I do recognize that everyone is different.  People who have MCS differ in many ways.  I am not an expert.  However, I do have some observations.  These observations are probably more helpful to people who are really trying to figure out the underlying causes of the condition.

I have noticed in the MCS community that there seems to be a need for hierarchy.  A very common thing to say is “They are not as sick as we are”, or “They haven’t been as sick as long as we have”.  It is almost as if we need to set ourselves apart as being very, very sick for a very long time.  Does this give some sort of status to the sufferer?  I don’t know.

Also, as I have noted before, there seems to be a lot of anger.  Quite naturally this would make sense in light of a person’s not being able to be out in the world without having a myriad of reactions.  One does wonder, though, if at least some of the anger predates the onset of the condition.

Another thing is the resistance to the suggestion that MCS is a psychological condition.  I, personally, do not believe that it is a psychological condition.  It is, however, a thinking condition.  I hesitate to use the word mental because most people have a hard time drawing a distinction between mental and psychological.  I am not speaking in clinical terms, but just making a distinction between a clinical psychological condition and a “thinking disorder”.  The latter being much of what forms the basis of the Gupta Amygdala Retraining Programme.  The suggestion that it could be a psychological disorder brings up incredibly strong emotions in sufferers of MCS.  I understand this reaction as I once had the same emotional reaction.  I posted earlier about my experience in talking with Dr. Shrader in Santa Fe about MCS.  He suggested that the problem lay in faulty thinking.  It was hard for me to hear that in a way that didn’t imply that MCS is a psychological condition.  He kept stressing to me, however, that it was mental in that it was about the thought process.  He helped me to accept that, perhaps, one’s thoughts are the underlying cause.  That interaction set me on my current path of recovery.  I am truly grateful.

Leave a Reply

